Texting While Driving Takes Effect in Michigan on Tuesday

The texting while driving ban takes effect in Michigan on Tuesday.

Texting while driving in Michigan will be a primary offense, which means you can be stopped if a police officer thinks you might have been texting. At this point texting is illegal but dialing the phone is not. It remains to be seen if they will check your phone to see if you were texting or dialing while driving.

The fee for first time offenders in $100.00 and for second offenses it is $200.00. No points will be added to your driving record if you are given a ticket.

This video is hard to watch but is well worth the time to see the dangers.

Comments

comments

2 thoughts on “Texting While Driving Takes Effect in Michigan on Tuesday

  1. Missy – I saw something hilarious about this recently. A sign on a church read “Stop in to learn about Jesus. Text while driving to meet him directly.” Thought you’d enjoy that one!

  2. I think legislation is critical for raising public awareness but we can’t solely legislate our way out of this issue. I just read that 72% of teens text daily – many text more than 3000 times a month. This issue is in its infancy and its not going away. I decided to do something about it after my three year old daughter was nearly run down right in front of me by a texting driver . Instead of a shackle that locks down phones and alienates the user (especially teens) I built a tool that is a simple app for smartphones – low cost, no recurring fees. We can empower the individual and change will come to our highways now and not just our laws.

    Erik Wood, owner
    OTTER LLC
    http://www.OTTERapp.com

Thoughts?